Tradition of Excellence

bluegold crest

Tradition of Excellence

2014 Award Recipients

bluegold crest

Established by the Class of 1982, the annual Tradition of Excellence Awards recognize OPRFHS alumni who have made outstanding contributions to society through their personal and professional pursuits. Nominations may be made by using the nomination form linked below. Awards are presented annually in November. Honorees are invited to a reception and dinner with key school and community leaders, followed the next day by Honoree's presentations to students at a school-wide assembly.
Alumni who have graduated 10 years prior to the date of the current graduating year and earlier are eligible for consideration – e.g. Class of 1999 graduates and earlier would be eligible in the 2008-09 school year

Follow this link for Nomination form and instructions.                              To view  Past Award Recipients

 Welcome, 2014 Tradition of Excellence Honorees - Nov 7, 2014

  Joan Rohlfing
  Public Servant

Joan Rohlfing is president and chief operating officer of the Nuclear Threat Initiative, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with a mission to strengthen global security by reducing the risk of use, and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. Over the last 13 years, Ms. Rohlfing has played a critical role in guiding the organization and was part of the original team that created the mission and scope for NTI in 2000. Since then NTI has conceived, nurtured and launched a number of new global organizations and solutions and she has played strategic roles in the design and launch of these hallmark projects. Ms. Rohlfing has also worked closely with former Secretary of State George P. Shultz, former Secretary of Defense William J. Perry, former Secretary of State Henry A. Kissinger and former Senator Sam Nunn in their effort to galvanize global action to reduce urgent nuclear dangers and build support for reducing reliance on nuclear weapons, ultimately ending them as a threat to the world. Before joining NTI, Ms. Rohlfing held senior positions with the US Department of Energy. In 1998, when India and Pakistan tested nuclear weapons, she was selected for a nine-month assignment in New Delhi to advise the US ambassador on nuclear security issues. Ms. Rohlfing served on the staff of the US House Armed Services Committee and at the US Department of Defense. Ms. Rohlfing holds a master’s degree from the University of Maryland and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Illinois.

  Greg Cappelli

Gregory Cappelli serves as Chief Executive Officer of Apollo Group and Chairman of Apollo Global.  Before joining Apollo Group, Mr. Cappelli spent ten years as a research analyst for Credit Suisse, where he served as Managing Director and Senior Research Analyst and founded the Credit Suisse Global Services Team.  Prior to
Credit Suisse, Mr. Cappelli held the position of Vice President and Senior Research Analyst at ABN AMRO.  Mr. Cappelli received his Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Indiana University and his Master of Business Administration from the Brennan School of Business at Dominican University.  Mr.Cappelli serves on the National Board of Governors for the Boys and Girls Clubs of America and is also a member of the Board of Trustees for Dominican University.

  Richard Cottle

Richard Cottle majored in mathematics at Harvard (A.B. 1957, A.M 1958) and taught mathematics for two years at Middlesex School in Concord, Massachusetts.  He received his doctorate in mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley.  Upon graduation he became a Member of the Technical Staff at Bell Telephone Laboratories.  In 1966 and joined the newly formed Operations Research Department at Stanford University.  He was a professor there until 2005 at which time he retired and became professor emeritus.  Cottle served as his department’s chair from 1990 to 1996.  His principal fields of study  are continuous optimization, complementarity, variational inequalities, and equilibrium theory.  He is the author of 3 books editor of 10 books, and has written 100 technical papers on these subjects.  He has continued his professional work in retirement.  Cottle has received several honors in his field.  These include the U.S. Senior Scientist Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Bonn, Germany, the Lanchester Prize from INFORMS (the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Association of America), the Mathematical Optimization Society, and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

 Home Page                                                                                                         Previous Honorees