Jazz Ensemble takes first place in annual Purdue festival

January 21, 2013

The OPRFHS Jazz Ensemble won first place at this past weekend's 23rd Annual Purdue University Jazz Festival. This is the second year in a row the ensemble has received this top honor. In addition, Jonah Philion (lead alto) took home the Outstanding Soloist award. The Jazz Ensemble competed against 17 other bands in its class.  This was a great ending to an amazing two-day jazz tour. Way to go, Huskies! Members of the Jazz Ensemble are:

Alto Saxes - Jonah Philion, Max Lazarus
Tenor Saxes - Matt Woytek, Derrick Griffin
Baritone Sax - Maggie Rothberger
Trumpets - Cody Stocker, John Martin, Nate Marcus, Teddy Mayer, Jordan Dubin
Trombones - Nick Fascione, Eric Gilardon, Caylah Peoples, Collin Pearce
Set - Jonah Lazarus, Ray Bizot
Bass - Eigen Aoki, Patrick Dugan
Guitar - Louis Blankemeier, Jesse Raney
Piano - Evan Thompson

Don't miss the ensemble's next performance: Tuesday, February 12, at 7:30 p.m. in the Little Theatre.