Driver Education Course Description
Driver Education is a 1-semester course that meets daily. Students must be at least 15 years old by the beginning of the course. Under Illinois law, students must have passed at least 8 classes in the previous calendar year to be eligible to participate in any of the phases of Driver Education. Students automatically will be scheduled into Driver Education according to their eligibility, with priority being given to the older students starting with seniors, juniors, and sophomores (oldest to youngest within each grade). If age prohibits a qualified student from being scheduled into Driver Education, that student will have to register to take Driver Education during first or second semester of the following year or during summer school. Thirty hours of class work in Driver Education is a graduation requirement. All students must pass tests on the rules of the road, signs, and vision before qualifying for instruction. A lab fee is assessed each time a student takes the course.
Under Illinois law, a student must successfully complete a Driver Education course in order to drive under the age of 18 years. It is also a prerequisite for receiving a rate discount on auto insurance from most companies. Upon successful completion of the Driver Education course, students will receive an informational letter from the Driver Education Department describing the procedure to obtain a driver’s license. Upon receipt of this letter, students will be eligible to appear at the Secretary of State’s office with their 50-hour sheet to obtain a license. Successful completion of driver education will provide insurance discounts and the privilege of taking the driving test under the legal age of 18 years.
920/2, 9207, 92092 Driver Education
Open to students who are at least 15 years old by the beginning of the course and who have passed at least 8 classes in the previous calendar year. (Eligibility determined by Illinois law.) Students will be scheduled into Driver Education by age, with priority being given to the older students first.
1 semester; 1 credit
This course is based on an integrated curriculum of classroom theory, simulation activities, and actual behind the wheel experience. If a student fails the course, he or she must repeat it within 2 years of the date that instruction initially began, or the student will have to reapply for the learner’s permit. The grade earned in Driver Education is not used when computing a student’s grade point average. When Safety Education is granted in lieu of Driver Education, no credit is given.