Ginger Colamussi named to Governor’s gender equity task force

Oak Park and River Forest High School is proud to announce that Ginger Colamussi, prevention and wellness coordinator, was appointed to Governor JB Pritzker’s Affirming and Inclusive Schools Task Force.

She will join 24 other members and two co-chairs who will recommend ways to make public schools safer, more supportive, and more inclusive for transgender, non-binary, and gender non-conforming students. The task force will also provide the governor with a report outlining the legal rights of such students.

“Public education is a right for all of our children, no matter their citizenship, race, sexual orientation or gender identity, and this task force will help ensure that our state always lives up to those values,” Governor Pritzker said in a press release.

Colamussi holds a master’s degree in social work, and is the sponsor of the A Place For All club, which hosted OPRF’s first-ever Rainbow Dinner (an event to welcome LGBTQ+ students, families, and allies) on Sept. 19, 2019.

“I’m honored and humbled to be asked to work alongside so many strong advocates,” Colamussi said. “I hope our task force can utilize the best ideas and lessons learned from across the state to showcase what’s really possible -- and necessary -- to be an inclusive school for all students.”

In May of 2018, the District 200 Board of Education voted to approve a revised version of its Equal Educational Opportunities policy, which included specific language around the treatment and support of students consistent with their gender identity. OPRF administrators also developed procedures to address issues such as names and pronouns, restroom and locker room usage, overnight school trips, and more.

“I’m excited to share the policies and procedures, as well as successes and challenges, of OPRF’s journey to affirm and support transgender, non-binary, and gender non-conforming students,” Colamussi said.

Colamussi and the task force will begin meeting in early October. Click here to view the complete list of task force members.