10 OPRF seniors named 2021 National Merit semifinalists

*UPDATED 10/7/2020 to include the names of 34 Commended Students.

Oak Park and River Forest High School is proud to announce that 10 of its students have placed as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in the 2021 program. The high school’s semifinalists this year are: Maggie Rose Baron, Camille Grant, Nathaniel Lee, Jonathan Mueller-Nussenbaum, Emmett Perry, Dox Raskin, Eleanor Sigel, Devin Sturtevant, Jackson Tanner, and Nicholas Woods.

More than 1.5 million juniors from 21,000 high schools nationwide entered the 2021 program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Of these students, 16,000, or less than 1 percent of the nation’s high school seniors, qualified as semifinalists by being among the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

National Merit semifinalists have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 scholarships worth more than $30 million, which will be announced in the spring. About 15,000 semifinalists are expected to be notified in February that they have advanced to the finalist round, from which the 2,500 winners of $2,500 National Merit Scholarships will be chosen.

Approximately 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be given to students who meet the corporations’ specific criteria, and about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,100 Merit Scholarship awards to finalists who will attend their institutions.

*In addition, each year National Merit Scholarship Corporation sends Letters of Commendation to approximately 34,000 high-scoring students in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some do become candidates for one of the corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards. The following OPRF students received Letters of Commendation: Isabella Baker, Evan Bell, Jonah Black, Austin Bohlmann, George Bourgikos, Nicolai Cronin, Katherine DeBeers, Elizabeth Eggert, Gia Fisher, Ethan France, Ethan Gale, Lindsay Gooch, Rory Higgins-Urban, Isabel Keidan, Margaret Kennedy, Maximillian Lau, Maarten Lempia, Beverly Lundeen, Zane Maggio, John Minich, Nathan Mitzenmacher, Noah Oxer, Jasmine Paulk, Jonathan Perkins, Adam Raducha, Samuel Shafiro, Isabella Staples, Megan Sutor, Catherine Szpila, Anastasia Theys, Dylan Thomas, Samuel Warzecha, Jasmine Wood, and Elliot Zubkus.