Skip To Main Content

Student Services

Click here to access resources shared at our Nov. 15, 2023, Parent University.

Our Student Services division includes our counselors, deans, and social workers. Each student has an assigned counselor, who is part of a Pupil Support Services team, or PSS for short. The primary goal of the PSS team is to help students succeed in school academically, socially, emotionally, and behaviorally. Each PSS team includes the following:

  • Three counselors: Address the academic, career, and social-emotional needs of students. 
  • Dean of students: Works with the student's family, counselor, teachers, and support personnel to assist students with behavioral issues, student conflicts, and any other issues that may interfere with the student's safety and success.
  • School social worker: Provides individual student counseling on a short-term basis and facilitates student support groups.

Summer Counselor Hours

During the summer, one summer counselor is on duty from 7:00 AM through 5:00 PM (Monday through Thursday). You may reach out with questions to the counselor listed for the remaining summer dates. 

  • May 31 and June 3, 4, 5, 6, 10 / Joe Herbst / jherbst@oprfhs.org
  • June 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 20, 21 / Carolyn Ojikutu / ojikutu@oprfhs.org 
  • June 24, 25, 26, 27 and July 1, 2, 3 / Jacqueline Hanson / jhanson@oprfhs.org
  • July 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 / Katie O'Keefe / kokeefe@oprfhs.org 
  • July 18, 19, 31 / Joe Herbst / jherbst@oprfhs.org 
  • July 22, 23, 25, 26, 29, 30 / Thaddeus Sherman / tsherman@oprfhs.org 

Summer Counselor Secretary, Mary D' Avella (mdavella@oprfhs.org) is available during the summer counselor hours. All counselors return in-person on Thursday,  August 1, 2024. 

Pupil Support Services (PSS) Teams

Click below to see the members of each PSS team and their contact information. The prefix for each extension is 708-434-XXXX.

Wellness Workshops

We have instituted monthly wellness days, where team members go into classrooms and complete a lesson on various topics to help improve our students' social-emotional capacity. Click here for more information.

Additional Resources

NOTE: The prefix for each extension listed below is 708-434-XXXX.

Director of Student Services
Kris Johnson
 x3258
 kjohnson@oprfhs.org

Division Secretary
Gabrielle Van Zant
x3259
gvanzant@oprfhs.org

Enrollment and Registrar Manager
Gabriela Olivera
x3262
golivera@oprfhs.org

Registrar
Carmen Lopez
x3260
clopez@oprfhs.org

Prevention and Wellness Coordinator
Ginger Bencola
gbencola@oprfhs.org
x3729

504 Coordinator
Daniela Lukic Cole
x 3608
dcole@oprfhs.org

Community Outreach Coordinator
Tyrone Garland
x3008
tgarland@oprfhs.org

Trauma Informed Specialist
Curtis Diggs
x3286
cdiggs@oprfhs.org